Awards of Excellence

Awards of Excellence

The Annual Awards of Excellence reflects DRI Canada’s commitment to recognizing excellence. Our awards provide a unique opportunity for individuals and organizations to be honoured and publicly acknowledged as leaders and innovators in the fields of business continuity, disaster recovery and emergency management. 

If you have questions regarding nominations or the awards program, please contact 

Award Categories

Lifetime Achievement

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has had an exemplary career in the fields of business continuity, disaster recovery or emergency management. Nominees must demonstrate a record of professional success, contribution to the industry, expertise in the use of the common body of knowledge (DRII Professional Practices), and advocacy of the DRI CANADA mission. 

DRI Canada Builder

The DRI Canada Builder Award is granted to an individual who has exemplified steady commitment and inspired leadership in DRI CANADA or has transformed or improved DRI CANADA through a significant initiative.

Volunteer of the Year

The Volunteer of the Year Award is granted to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional achievement and commitment to the fields of business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management through volunteer efforts.


Response and Recovery

The ability to effectively respond to and recover from a disaster is the hallmark of business continuity. This award recognizes an organization that has demonstrated a capability to meet the challenges presented by a disaster, not only to the organization itself but also to the community it serves. Such commitment would include maintaining operations and ensuring the viability of the organization, providing a safe environment for its employees and relieving the financial and other pressures they face, and supporting the welfare of the community as a whole. This commitment would also include learning from the disaster to improve the organization's business continuity capability. 

Student Award and Scholarship

This Student Award and Scholarship recognizes a post-secondary student who has, in the past year, presented an exceptional scholarly work (academic paper, report, project, presentation, etc.) that is relevant and adds value to the business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management industry.

Students are asked to provide an executive summary of their scholarly work and to share why they are inspired to become part of the business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management profession.

Student Award and Scholarship applicants will be in a relevant post-secondary program and have endorsement from their academic institution. The application must be endorsed by a professor, instructor, or senior member of the institution, validating the educational program and student achievement. 

This award includes a $2000 scholarship and complimentary enrollment in a BCLE 2000 course.  In addition, for 2023 all applicants will be entered into a draw for admission to the BCLE 2000 course.

For more information on the awards, including eligibility and nomination forms, please click on the awards categories to the left.