Student Award and Scholarship

The Student Award and Scholarship recognizes a post-secondary student who, in the past year, has presented an exceptional project or scholarly work - such as an academic paper, report, or presentation - that is relevant to and adds value to business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management industries.

Eligibility and requirements:

  • Enrollment in a relevant post-secondary program.
  • Submit a nomination form.
  • Submit an executive summary of their scholarly work (maximum 750 words).
  • Submit an essay outlining why they are inspired to become part of the business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management professions (maximum 250 words).
  • The nominee must have the endorsement by a professor, instructor, or senior member of the institution validating the educational program and student achievement. 
  • Nominations for this award must be submitted by the nominee.


Applicants will be evaluated on the following criteria.

  • Executive Summary of scholarly work:
    • Relevant project with clear purpose and objectives.
    • Clear description of the problem of issue.
    • Well-considered analysis of the problem or issue, demonstrating an understanding of impacts and solutions.
    • Consideration of the broader implications of the problem, issue, and solutions.
  • Grade received for the scholarly work.
  • Essay on inspiration to join the profession:
    • Level of knowledge and understanding of the industry.
    • Clearly defined personal goals and future plans.
    • Emphasis on the broader goals of the industry (such as societal benefits), relevant experience (such as volunteering), and authentic passion or interests in the field.
  • Completeness of the application.
  • Professionalism and clarity of the application, ensuring it is logical, relevant, and grammatical.

This award includes a $2000 scholarship and complimentary enrollment in a BCLE 2000 course.  In addition,  all applicants will be entered into a draw for admission to the BCLE 2000 course.

Note: Applicants aren't expected to fulfill every requirement. The Awards Committee seeks an accurate, compelling submission that outlines the applicant's qualification for the award.


2023  Tasmia Sheikh

2022   Mitchell Beaumaster

2022  Jennifer Steenstra

2018  Rezwana Islam