Contributor Award

The DRI CANADA Contributor Award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management in Canada through commitment, leadership, achievement, and innovation. It can include advancing DRI Canada, the BC/DR/EM sectors, and community and organizational resilience.

The award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions at any stage of their career, an emerging or a seasoned professional.

Eligibility and requirements:

  • Submission of a nomination form accompanied by an essay, limited to 1,000 words, outlining the nominee's contributions.
  • Nominees must be DRI Canada certified members in good standing, active or retired.
  • An individual cannot be nominated for the Contributor and Lifetime Achievement awards in the same year.
  • A reference is mandatory. A third-party nominator can serve as the reference.
  • Anyone is eligible to submit nominations for this award.


Applicants will be evaluated on the following criteria.

  • Contributions that demonstrate steady, inspired leadership and/or contributions to innovative, transformational initiatives.
    • Inspired, steady leadership through contributions to DRI Canada, BC/DR/EM industry associations, or community resilience planning groups. It could be participation and leadership in groups and events, teaching, mentorship, and so on.
    • Contributions through initiating and leading innovative or transformational initiatives, even a single inittiative, that significantly impact DRI Canada, the BC/DR/EM industries, communities, or organizations.
  • Completeness of the application.
  • Professionalism and clarity of the application, ensuring it is logical, relevant, and grammatical.

Note: Applicants aren't expected to fulfill every requirement. The Awards Committee seeks an accurate, compelling submission that outlines the applicant's qualifications for the award.