About the Awards

DRI CANADA - Awards of Excellence Program

In its 15th year, the Annual Awards of Excellence reflects DRI Canada’s commitment to recognizing excellence. Our awards provide a unique opportunity for individuals and organizations to be honoured and publicly acknowledged as leaders and innovators in the fields of business continuity, disaster recovery and emergency management. 
The 2022 Award categories are:

  • Lifetime Achievement
  • DRI CANADA Builder
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Student Award and Scholarship
  • Response and Recovery
Nominations are open from May 2 until September 16, 2022. 

The DRI CANADA Awards of Excellence Committee reviews each nomination based on the predefined matrix for the award and respects all nominations that are submitted.  
Awards will be presented at the Continuity and Resilience Today (CRT) conference in Toronto (November 16-17, 2022).

For more information on the Awards of Excellence Program, please click on the above awards categories.  If you have questions regarding nominations or the awards program, please contact awards2022@dri.ca or Perry Ruehlen at 1-844-228-8135 or perry@dri.ca.

FAQ Page
Nomination Forms

Achievement Awards

To qualify for the DRI CANADA Achievement awards, the applicant must demonstrate significant accomplishment in the professional areas of business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management, as well as meet the criteria for the specific award category.  

Applicants for Lifetime Achievement, DRI CANADA Builder, and Volunteer of the Year must be DRIC certified professionals, in good standing. 

Anyone is eligible to submit nominations for the Lifetime Achievement, DRIC Builder, and Volunteer of the Year.

Nominations for the Response and Recover Award must be submitted by a DRIC certified professional, in good standing.


The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes DRIC-certified professionals who have led exemplary careers. Submissions must demonstrate a record of professional success, contribution to the industry, expertise in the use of the common body of knowledge (DRII Professional Practices), and advocacy for the DRI Canada mission. 

Lifetime Achievement applicants must have a minimum CBCP or CFCP certification. 


This DRI CANADA Builder Award recognizes DRIC-certified professionals who have exemplified steady commitment and inspired leadership in DRI CANADA or have transformed or improved DRI CANADA through a significant project or initiative.

DRIC Builder applicants may be active or retired members. 


This Volunteer of the Year award is granted to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional achievement and commitment to the fields of business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management through volunteering efforts. 

Volunteer of the Year applicants must be active in the BC/DR/EM industry.


This Student Award and Scholarship recognizes a post-secondary student who has, in the past year, presented an exceptional scholarly work (academic paper, report, project, presentation, etc.) that is relevant and adds value to the business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management industry. 

Students are asked to share why they are inspired to become part of the business continuity, disaster recovery, or emergency management profession and provide an executive summary of their scholarly work. The application must be endorsed by a professor, instructor, or senior member of the institution, validating the educational program and student achievement. 

The award will be granted by DRIC following a judging process. This award includes a $2000 scholarship and complimentary enrollment in a BCLE 2000 course.  

In addition, for 2022 all applicants will be entered into a draw for admission to the BCLE 2000 course.

The ability to effectively respond to and recover from a disaster is the hallmark of business continuity. This award recognizes an organization that has demonstrated a capability to meet the challenges presented by a disaster-- not only to the organization itself but also to the community it serves. Such commitment would include maintaining operations and ensuring the viability of the organization, providing a safe environment for its employees and relieving the financial and other pressures they face, and supporting the welfare of the community as a whole. This commitment would also include learning from the disaster to improve the organization's business continuity capability.

*The incident must have occurred within the previous 12 months.

Nominations must be submitted by a DRIC certified professional in good standing.